Wednesday, September 2, 2009

Cricket Trivia.

Sourav Ganguly is the only cricketer to have won four successive Man of the Match awards in One-day Internationals.

The first Test match began on 15 March 1877 and had a timeless format with four balls per over. It ended on 19 March 1877 with Australia winning by 45 runs.

The first Twenty20 international was between Australia and New Zealand in 2005.

The Test match between England and South Africa at Durban in 1939 was finally abandoned as a draw on the tenth day because England players had to catch their ship home.

The First Test between Young Sri Lanka and Young England at Columbo in 1987 was held up when a large iguana crept across the wicket.

Pakistan Railways beat Dera Ismail Khan by an innings and 851 runs in 1964. In reply to the railwaymen’s 910 for 6 declared, Dera Ismail Khan were bowled out 32 and 27.

Sussex batsman H.J. Heygate was given out in a match with Somerset in 1919 because he didn’t reach the crease within two minutes of the fall of the previous wicket. Poor Heygate was crippled with rheumatism.

No comments:

Post a Comment